Jessie and James

Hey y’all. I’m back now after about five months of being MIA. No reason for the disappearance really. Just a lack of inspiration, I guess! I’ve been having a blast with my relatives visiting from Hong Kong and LA. So yeah, life is not bad. But you know what IS bad? People who have absolutely NO respect for others. I know…illogical sequence of thoughts. Haha. But let’s just go with it…

If you’re reading this, and you know me, and you’re part of a relationship, then I’ll let you decide if I’m talking about you or not. (Don’t know if you’ll ever figure it out though, because I’ll never tell…) [Insert maniacal laugh.] But seriously…I’m not really talking about one specific couple. Let’s just say it’s a trend I’ve been noticing amongst many couples. For the sake of this post, I’ll talk about the situation and refer to a fictional couple. Let’s call them Jessie and James. (Oh, hayy Team Rocket!)

Jessie and James think they have their shit figured out. To them, respect is a right. Jessie and James have been together for some time now, and they believe that they’ve earned the respect of each other’s family just because of the mere fact that they’ve been together for a somewhat of a long amount of time. But Jessie’s family is not respecting and accepting James like he imagined they would, and vice versa for James’ family towards Jessie. What’s the deal? James thinks Jessie’s family is being uptight and too traditional, so he adapts a “screw them!” kind of mindset, because he doesn’t have the time to beg for their respect and acceptance. Same with Jessie towards James’ family. So is it true? Should respect and acceptance into the family come automatically over time?

Jessie, Jessie, Jessie. James, James, James. You innocent, naive, ignorant, little idiots…

I do not think that respect comes automatically because you think you deserve it. Who would be pompous enough to think that they’re so high and mighty that respect should be their right to have?

Respect is a PRIVILEGE. You want respect? You work for it and earn it like the mature adult you’re supposed to be. So many kids these days get things handed to them because their parents don’t want to see their precious children suffer for anything. I don’t want to criticize anyone’s parenting, but would it not hurt your children in the future if you shelter them and not allow them to experience the real world and learn lessons along the way? Then somewhere down the line, two of these sheltered little shitheads find each other and believe that they are somehow better than everyone around them and that other people should be the ones grovelling at their feet and begging for their respect. Couples these days… Can’t live with them, can’t live without them. Though I’d very much enjoy gifting each of them a swift punch in the face.

Again, don’t be offended. I’m not talking about anyone specifically. I could be talking about myself for all you know. And I also apologize for the illogical, nonsensical thoughts of this post. Just wanted to write something because my fingers were itching to rant about something. And because I like to ramble about random weirdness in general.

Leave your two cents

