Hey, Soul Sista!

My sister is the best sister ever. She’s kind, funny, mature, and I can talk to her about anything.


My sister…actually doesn’t exist. Nope, I don’t have a sister. But I wish so, so much that I did.


I’ve always been envious of sisters who shared all their clothes, shoes, jewellery, and makeup. How awesome would it be to conveniently borrow that cute top or those sleek leather boots that you couldn’t afford but thankfully your sister could? How nice would it be to just dip into your sister’s stash of nail polish to use that colour you don’t have, or raid her jewellery box for her pearl earrings for a classic touch while she opts for your diamond earrings for a dash of sparkle? See what I mean? Half the cost and double the variety!


Superficial things aside, there’s also that indescribable bond that sisters have. Two girls growing up together. Knowing each other’s habits. Sharing secrets and aspirations. Seeing each other at each’s best and worst. 


I’ve always wondered what it’d be like to be able to speak to someone freely without holding back for fear of judgment. Or to talk to someone about something and they totally understand you. Yes, a husband may do that, but I’m talking about getting feedback from another female mind. A female mind who knows you inside out.


I’ve never had a soul sister who I could talk to about how I’m waiting for that special guy who will sweep me off my feet with romantic gestures. Who will share all my physical and emotional burdens. Who is more than an ATM machine. Who will be a best friend for life. You tell that to your mom and dad, and they’ll say, “That’s impractical. You need someone who is smart and rich and will be able to financially provide for you.” You tell that to your brother, and he’ll say, “I don’t give a shit.” You tell that to your sister, and she’d say, “YEAH, GIRL! TOTALLY!” I need exactly that.


I know there are all the downsides to having a sister, which usually comes with having a sibling in general. But honestly, I think all the good things outweigh the bad things. I would be willing to put up with all the sibling bullshit just to experience sisterhood and all its amazing girlyness.


Now, can we take a few minutes to listen to one of the best songs ever made? Seriously…check out that badass in the shades strumming the shit out of the ukulele. So. Badass.

 

Leave your two cents

