PDA (Part 2) : Couples vs. The Public

no public display of affection - Google Images

Okay you two, that’s enough…

 

Like I said in Part 1, there are so many different levels and layers to this topic. When is it okay? When is it not? To me, it really depends on the type of situation you’re in.

 

PDA-ing in front of the general public is sort of tricky. I will admit that I am a little more lax with showing affection towards my boyfriend when it’s just us two and strangers around us. In my mind, I tell myself that there’s a huge possibility that I won’t see any of those people ever again, and if they really had a problem with us acting like a couple, then they could just utter their snide remark and move on with their lives. (They’re lucky they live in a country with freedom of speech. Otherwise…hehe, just kidding.) 


And when I say acting like a couple, I mean holding hands, hugging, the occasional peck, and maybe even staring each other down with affection. You know, the little things. Bigger (and inappropriate) gestures would include grabbing and groping, tongue action, and exchange of saliva. C’mon people, it ain’t that hard, is it?


It really comes down to using your judgment. If I feel like I’m making an affectionate gesture that I may not realize right away that it may be slightly inappropriate and I see it is bothering someone, I will stop. I keep in mind that if I were in the other person’s shoes, I would probably feel uncomfortable as well. Be respectful. That’s all.


But if I feel like I’m making an affectionate gesture that is common for couples to do, and it still bothers someone, this is a situation where I would make a stand for myself and be like, “Hey, does me hugging my boyfriend bother you? Then look look the other way, homie!” I’m not going to show my boyfriend zero affection just because I’m worried about every little comment that might be made. It’s one of those situations: You hate us? But you’re still talking about us. 


Respect between a couple and the public is mutual. Couples need to respect the general public by not going overboard with their PDA and the general public needs to respect that couples just need to act like couples sometimes. I think it’s as simple as that.


But honestly, saying this issue is simple is a HUGE overstatement. Back to what is considered to be overboard and what isn’t, everyone has their own opinion about that. Let’s just trust the human race to practice common sense and everyone will live happily ever after, yes? (Oh my.)

 

Thanks for reading. 🙂

Leave your two cents

